*BLOG: Reflections on the Unknown Path

Justin Abraham in Germany

Years ago I was deeply impacted by a prophetic word called “The Two Pathways”. It was just one of those words that invaded your heart and exploded inside. A rare word that carried the DNA of heaven. It was written by a British prophetic voice who I’ve never met but the word impacted and shaped something within us. We have posted it many times but have linked it HERE for you to look at it.

I find myself again wondering at the unusual road we are being called to walk. Since we chose to follow it, it seems we don’t fit anymore. It’s like the decision to take this path has moved us further and further out. Or is it the wild fire burning taking us down unpredictable paths? Either way we’re not in control anymore that’s for sure. 

I once was involved in leading a movement in Wales birthed out of unusual glory encounters. Intoxicated and ravished by heaven, we saw great things. It seemed like the BIG one we’d all be waiting for. It seemed unstoppable and for a time it was. 

God shattered the dream when prophet John Scotland said there was about to be a shipwreck. He saw it coming.

He was right. The boat collided with the Big unavoidable Rock. It ended for me as suddenly as it begun. Birthed with joy, imageending with sorrow. Smashed like Humpty never to be put back together again.

Choice for me at that time was removed. Heart relationships ended. Nothing could be done to change that. 

Jesus still is a stumbling block on which we all have to fall. Perhaps this is growing up. Embracing the Rock. He is the Beginning but he is also the End. I met him as the End. 

He said “I am with you.” God whispered to “Embrace brokenness as a friend it is good for the soul”. 

I didn’t even know what that meant. I soon learned the hard way as dreams of revival were shattered… circles completed and I found myself back to the Beginning again. I didn’t even know you could cry that much. I had held that dream so long I didn’t know how to live without it. 

“Will you die?” He said. No, not to sin – we are dead to that already in Christ. It is finished. But die to who I want to be. The false me. The ‘important’ me. My identity. Being anything other than a family man, a husband, a friend, His. 

I embraced the death gladly at the time. I thought it would be quick. But I was wrong. It was painfully slow. Probably my fault again. Some die quickly and let go of themselves. I think I hung onto the hope of something more in Wales for us. Another surge. Healed friendships. Everyone pulling together. A great dream I’d held in my heart since being a teenager. A dream of a nation burning… It didn’t come.

holy islandThe tide came cutting us off and the crowds scattered. I faced the stark realities of being hidden again. Undefined. Uncertain. Only a few friends remained and understood. Priceless people who I have grown to cherish. 

Then the sweet surprises came. Unexpected sovereign visits to heaven. Joyfully meeting Enoch face to face and being taught panoramic truths through seeing the books of the Future and drinking the wine of Isaiah.

Suddenly there were many listening around the world, many connecting to what Papa was saying. Sometimes I found I would teach and not even know how I knew what I knew. I would listen to myself and be amazed. Somehow God infused me with Truth. It was a wonder to me.

I saw glimpses again of something more. Night visions of a Nazarite generation burning, focused, set on the Lord. a million young people on the Streets. Glory invasion, signs and wonders… Europe’s Day. 

But I still faced the stark realities of life. Wales gave me its cold back and hid its heart. I did not fit into the landscape nor did it embrace me. Yet it is my home. I understood Paul’s word that he was “known yet regarded and treated as unknown.” 

The temptation came to fly. A fight to stand firm and root in. The battle was and still is fierce. 

Yet the question remained…

“Will you go where I go? Will you walk where I take you? Will you walk the unknown path?”

I was restrained by the Voice. Held in a vice like grip of love, that caressed my broken head and said – I have hemmed you in on every side and I love you. I love this land. This land of Wales. These islands. Stay here. Wait patiently for the Lord. 

I reached out to the Land. I started to go to the City Leaders monthly events here. They were perhaps suspicious of me. I hid myself in Jesus’ side each time I went. I would cry inside and hope that things would change, that the ice would melt, that they would embrace me.

To console me Jesus even appeared right in the middle of the room and placed his hands on my face. Only I saw him but I know others felt him. He gave me that look that cut to the heart that he loved me, he understood, he cared. It was pure Grace. I was dignified even in the midst of indignity by Love Himself. This is one of my most cherished encounters. He met me even in the place of pain. 

I have accepted we are to some extent vagrants. I am beginning to understand the apostolic journeys of Paul. How often he was alone, or with few beside him. True friends were thin on the ground at times. His writings are revealing. Consider this-

Paul-PrisonIt seems to me that God has put us who bear his Message on stage in a theater in which no one wants to buy a ticket. We’re something everyone stands around and stares at, like an accident in the street. We’re the Messiah’s misfits. You might be sure of yourselves, but we live in the midst of frailties and uncertainties. You might be well-thought-of by others, but we’re mostly kicked around… We’re treated like garbage, potato peelings from the culture’s kitchen. And it’s not getting any better. 1 Cor 4:8-10

Ah! Brother Paul you are a wonder to us! I am glad he recorded the brutal honesty of his life. Yet he changed generations and his voice still speaks loudly through the ages. 

There is life even in death. 

So onwards we go… We are learning to embrace the beauty of the little moments, life, children, growing veggies, holding hands with my wife. Being rejected by men, but loved by God, loved by Family, loved by Friends. 

There is no going back to Christendom… and truthfully we would never be able to go back even if we wanted. All the doors to the past are closed. We have changed. We can’t wear the old clothes, accept the old identities.

Ahead is the Voice calling. Hidden there is Something … Something worth journeying for.

holy island

Looking up… with determination and focus… we again walk the Unknown Path.

God said “The Future is not like your past”. I believe it. I know that Voice. I trust that Voice. 

One step at a time… 

Thanks for listening, Justin Abraham

41 comments

Add Yours
  1. markrandallpixley

    Thank you so much Justin, this resonates in pain to my own current experience…I think its Papa’s way of kicking us out of the orphanage before the adoption comes through…out on the streets feeling rejected, but Papa is jealous over His kids and being adopted by the wrong father would be a catastrophe…still doesn’t ease the pain, the truth must emerge that we are NOT orphans anymore…He has claimed us.

  2. Pete Lowe

    Ah Justin.thanks for sharing and for being willing to be vulnerable in your journeying.We have been called to walk a Salk less travelled where the signposts at the crossroads point to the ancient paths.I am increasingly aware that are journeys are similar but peculiarly different just as we have been made similar yet different.Your encounters in grace and love have been momentous no doubt.I guess the tenet is ” wherever Hd leads me I will follow” but even that falls short in the face of our constant union with and in Christ.In many ways I can connect with your experiences and laying down of aspirations to see things then emerge.my early experience of coming into Wakes was like that for 7 years.I called it a desert period.I would frame it more like a ” getting redefined/re shaped/remodelled time now I think.so much had to be shed of activity and performance so that what papa intentioned in the season ahead could Nd embraced.stretching ..yes.alarming..at times..discouraging..it had it’s moments.BUT right throughout God always proved faithful and ever loving.
    Lost my reputation,sense of identity,function and then it all seemed to change.
    You guys were part of my journey into the experience of the goodness of Gid.surprised by Joy and glorious life once again.you made my heart dance long enough to believe that I had not been anywhere else apart from Papas love.
    Reformation has already found Wakes as a nest and fledglings are already in place.ghe entombment if he old order has cracked wide open,the darkness being dispelled and light of day now evident.the yoke if the past noon her sufficient to sustain but The Bread of Heaven has been made available.exciting days.lovd yer xx

  3. whitenosugar

    Hey cobh,
    I read that word about the two pathways too and it impacted me greatly. A while back I saw a sword come down and the blade brought a distinct separation between religion and true followers and friends. I see its impact increasingly.
    Thank you for your honesty and congruence in this article and in general. We mustn’t despise the little things, even though eternity is in our hearts. So, blessings on your family and your vegetables and your walk / crawl / whatever it looks like tomorrow, and crucially on your abiding / resting / attending to Him. You are found. In Gethsemane you will find Him. In the depths and in the heights you will find Him also. Win-win, kingdom treasure, character, real-fruit.
    A

    Sent from my iPad

  4. laurindapeters

    You’ve chosen the best part, Justin, and it won’t be taken from you…
    Thank you for walking out simplicity of devotion to Jesus.. Rachel.. Kids.. friends..and veggies.. Thank you for opening your heart and giving us all a privileged view of your journey so we each feel less lonely, greatly encouraged, and spurred on as we walk out our own unknown paths. We love you – Laurinda & Ric

  5. Cipriana Palozzi

    The Father,is always on time last night i was feeling so alone in this world with so mwny people on it ,I new i had Yahshua ,the angels,thTh e cloud of wittness,Holly spirit,,I know there in me and around me ,,but Ijust felt so alone,Its been almost a year that the father introduced me to Ian Clayton ,and you Justin,,I was so excited becouse , hearing you both showed me that what i had been expieriecing for the last 5 or so years that i was on the rite path,a lonly one but never the less the rite one,,,.everyone around me thought i was getting too mystical,and looked at me in the strangest ways when I would share what dad was showing me
    Prophet Mike,my Pastore told me to come back to earth,and again dont get to mystical on me,,needless im no longer with those people,,,well thank you Justin for sharing ,,it showed me im jn the rite place,,the Father is using you and Ian tremendousily,,Shalom

  6. Alex Mylott

    When you hit Rock Bottom you figure out that Jesus is the Rock at the Bottom!! Jesus is your Rock and on him you Shall not be moved unless He moves.Thank you Jesus that your shaking everything that can be Shaken that there’s only you and us.:)

  7. Silja Ham

    OMG – I can so relate to that (just on a much, much smaller scale). Reading this has helped me a lot in understanding our journey. Thank you so much, Justin. We love COBH and devour all your podcasts. Yumyum. Much blessings on you and your family. Silja

  8. luanne

    Thank you for sharing your struggles as well as the wonderful things that God is doing. I think it is wise to let other Christians know, as Paul did, that there is a cost in following Jesus. One that is well worth it!

  9. Jennifer Miller

    Thank you Justin so much for sharing your heart. I truly love & appreciate your input through the podcasts & writings. May you & your family continue to grow in the grace & knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

  10. Bonita Blakeman

    Thanks for this post….I just had this conversation with a friend today….saying all the while….REALLY LORD….you beautifully put into words what seems to be so hard to express….thank u for exposing the unknown pathways…..blessings on your journey….Bonita

  11. Ulrich Schüttler

    Yep surf it up Bro You are the chicken winning at the end without knowing so stoned on the rock that even when looking 4 coodie only knowing him 4 one day embracing all the pain as pure JOY

  12. Elizabeth Marsh

    I have just read all these comments and feel privileged —- it helps me so much in my aloneness — I have not the depth of experience that you all have but I appreciate reading and learning from all of you …. and being encouraged — Bless you Justin. You have shared so much with us and I eagerly wait for more …. with much gratitude and appreciation always — Betty (New Zealand)

  13. charo

    Justin,i love ur life and message.I want it alll!!!I thank PapaGod for you!! Yes definily what ge wants ,is new,never fone until now.blessings and love,hope some day i can meet u all beautiful family 🙂

  14. Cecil Tait

    I am amazed by the number of people that are going through the same thing. God really is birthing something new. Thanks you so much for all your podcasts. I had tiny seeds of what was happening and from listening to you, ian clayton and others i have slowly begun to understand. There is such an amazing reality of Christ on the other side of brokeness

  15. Carol Tattersall

    Your words found such an echo in my own heart and life, as i sit here thinking over my 52 years of following Christ. Just talking with my daughter about it all, the heartache, the ashes, the dreams foundering as folk forgot what Jesus said, By this shall all men know that you are my disciples, that you love one another”. Thanks to Ian and you Justin, i now understand that the lost Glory in satan’s trophy room can be restored, and will be.
    Thanks again. you write beautifully, and at this moment I needed to read it

  16. Sue G

    Dear Justin, so sorry to hear such pain in your voice. Thank you for being so faithful to your call. You help us so much. Thank you for speaking out and holding on. There is such a prize waiting those who do. Be encouraged by the love many have for you. Jesus told us the path is narrow – only He knows the way.. Keep pressing on. We’re right there behind you. Love and blessings to you and Rachel x

  17. graceuitterdijk

    Wow, yes the depth and honesty in that is unbelievable and so refreshing. Finding people who are walking higher but still keep their heart pure is difficult and yet its all laid bare right here!

  18. Allison

    [Chorus]
    Pioneer, Pioneer
    Keep pressing onwards beyond your fears
    And only your Father goes before you to your own frontier
    Youʼre a Pioneer

    [Verse 1]
    Uncharted wilderness stretches before you
    And you thrive on going where no one has gone
    Still it gets lonely when darkness deepens
    So sing by the fire until the dawn

    [Chorus]

    [Verse 2]
    You travel light and you travel alone
    And when you arrive nobody knows
    But your Father in heaven, He is glad you can go
    Cause those who come after you will need the road

    [Chorus]

    [Verse 3]
    And what you have done, others will do
    Bigger and better and faster than you
    But you canʼt look back, you gotta keep on pressing through
    Thereʼs a wilderness pathway and itʼs calling you

    [Last chorus]
    Calling you, calling you clear
    Keep pressing onwards, you can’t stay here…
    And only your Father goes before you to your own frontier
    Youʼre a Pioneer

  19. andrew pritchard

    Thanks for sharing Justin. You are such a genuine, caring person, and have been an encouragement to me in the past. I also can relate to your journey in many ways, but like Pete said, our journeys are also “similar but peculiarly different”. Sometimes journeys can be so hard to adequately articulate or vocalise to others, and I have found this to be the case personally. In the past when I have tried to share my journey with others, I have found this impossible. I could find no words to truly convey what was happening within my soul.

    God does seem to work in mysterious ways, and for me, It has been, and continues to be, a very difficult and lonely path, where everything has been stripped away (and in some ways which I thought were impossible). Days, months, and years roll into one, and pass on by, with no end in sight. A painful longing for God goes seemingly unnoticed and remains unfulfilled. However, in the midst of all the confusion, pain, and detachment, a deeper sense persists; an obscure, intangible, unintelligible sense that somehow God is still with me, in the darkness, and that in His time, and His way, He will reveal himself to me, and will satisfy the longings of my soul.

    I look back and notice that in this place of nothingness, God has been pulling away the carpet, completely stripping away old belief patterns, habits, attachments, and everything which made me ‘me’. He has forged within me, in a ‘contemplative way’, the desire to know Him intimately and to enjoy Him in that place. I now find myself completely dependent upon Him, trusting in the unseen with no tangible guarantees of success. I find that He has been infusing within me His truth (albeit in an obscure way). The old ways of thinking have been unmasked and exposed for what they really are, and now speak a foreign language to me.

    Some days are fraught with confusion and uncertainty, and my whole being asks the question.. how much is real? is it all simply a delusion? am I lost within myself?, but throughout it all, a deeper sense remains, that somehow, whatever happens.. everything will be OK, and that my Father, and a truly magical existence awaits me on the other side.

  20. Sherri Schutt

    This blog is so right on time for me.l am so thankful for the Lord bringing the company of burning hearts into my life over the past 7 months. I had a dream and heard the name Ian Clatyon 3 times. and before I knew it I was in a home meeting and the leaders started talking about him. I knew the Lord wanted me to be open to the message he was bringing. I signed up with I tunes and that is where I first heard Justin Abraham. My life and the lives of the people in my church have been turned right side up! Justin you have such the heart of the father!

  21. Cecilia Richardson

    Justin
    You have encouraged me immensely since I started listening to your podcasts which have been very instrumental in my own journey since discovering there is so much more!!! Your post is truly incredible and moved me beyond words. God bless you for your willingness to share so openly and honestly. Love and blessings to you and your family.

  22. Penny

    Justin it was heartbreaking reading all that you have been and still are going through. You prophesied so accurately over me regarding being an intercessor and through your meetings I went to a new level. But then I got stuck and you travelled on and I’m just so sorry that I don’t have the understanding you have. When I listen to you I know you’re at a place I long to be, but I’m not. I’m still in our local church, kicking and screaming but called to be there, I feel. I stopped coming to meetings because it went beyond me, but you are still a spiritual hero to me and please don’t think that we don’t love you, because we do and we hold you in high esteem. Wales is on tiptoes of expectation at the moment and we’re all feeling that God is about to do a mind-blowing thing among us and you’re part of that. Love to you, Rach and the children – and your lovely mum.

  23. Jen Snoxell

    Justin! I cannot tell you how deeply your words move me and resonate with my spirit. Whether it be through podcasts, blogs, or FB posts, I am touched time and again by the God-in-you, and I am so very blessed and humbled by the way you represent Jesus. You make God compelling! I wish I could do more than offer a simple thank you…but know that I am truly grateful for you and your ministry, and I thank God for anointing individuals like you to shamelessly proclaim his greatness and lead us into the fullness of the gospel. May heaven continue to invade earth on your watch as you walk the unconventional, unpopular pathway you’ve been called to pioneer in the Kingdom. Blessings brother!

  24. Bruce

    Wow -I read the 2 paths then your blog- wow. Thank you for going before….. I can feel and have been walking all the unknown path things mentioned this last 6 months…. I never had the exciting ministry like you but the path sounds so similar and His leading and presence is so exciting.
    God bless and be encouraged
    Brother Bruce
    Kelowna Canada

  25. maureendelaney

    Thanks for sharing your heart. I find I am on the unknown path, and that unbeknownst. It is at times terribly hard and terribly wonderful too. The thorough becoming of the Beloved and living so intimate with Him has turned me into someone so far from the shore of acceptable in the church. I am deeply hidden in Him. I would not want to miss Him in taking a path of comfort in this world. I wouldn’t know true comfort Himself. Having every mooring removed and being well beyond the shore, mysteries to explore and a friendship with God so wonderful, sounds so lovely, but the cost is difficult to describe. People want what I have, but they want it second hand, and second hand is not enough. Sometimes the things I have thought would be difficult are amazingly simple and the things I thought would be easy just about kill me! I am thankful for the resonance in my spirit, in Him with you and the other burning hearts. It is a comfort and an encouragement and a joy. I pray your life is ever increasingly adventuring ever deeper and deeper into the Wild Loving Heart of God.
    Maureen.

  26. Cassandra Dunne

    Very amazing, inspiring and raw… thank you..

    It reminds me of the truth that we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses…

  27. blueflame77

    Oh Justin!
    Holy Spirit was so precious to lead me here this am. With a gorgeous California sunrise in pinks & gold I read this old blog. How it lifted me! I too am on the Unknown Path..32+ years in ministry struggling over a little coastal town I am called to start a Healing Centre in. I am Alone but He is ever with me..I too am the potato skins.
    My heart burns but the unknown path has not shown the way yet.
    And so I press into His Arms, ask Him to kiss me & breathe into me so I may continue another day.
    THANK YOU for your transparency & beautiful heart…
    From Hook, I hear “Your DOING IT PAN! (Justin!)
    I love you guys. You encourage me so many times..Bless you & Rach & you family & The Co.
    From D’Ann of Cambria

Leave a Reply

